In the land of topsy-turvy

13march14a5

Image copyright Kim Upton (c) 2010-2017

“Tomorrow and plans for tomorrow can have no significance at all unless you are in full contact with the reality of the present, since it is in the present and only in the present that you live. There is no other reality than present reality, so that, even if one were to live for endless ages, to live for the future would be to miss the point everlastingly.”
― Alan W. Watts

Last week I made my first length of hairpin lace. It was such a Zen experience…hook, pull through, turn, repeat.

“Who would then deny that when I am sipping tea in my tearoom I am swallowing the whole universe with it and that this very moment of my lifting the bowl to my lips is eternity itself transcending time and space?”
― D.T. Suzuki

When I am working with yarn, it helps me find my place in space. Sometimes my mind tends to wander into places it doesn’t belong – worry, doubt, stress.

For those that are new to my world, I’m on sabbatical from my work in community ministry. This is not your typical “church” kind of work, but an interfaith path that includes all the people. At the end of last year I was so very burnt out…nearly 15 years of working with people in need can take its toil on your system. Along with that, I’m a Momma and wife, so my time was starting to get a little bit wonky. One can only keep up a break-neck pace for so long.

It has been a nice little break…but now I’m starting to miss folks. I’ll reach over to text someone, or check on a family, and I remember that this is a year of rest. At the core of this concern, I think, is that my heart worries for those in need. Who will set the table for those who are hungry? Who will give clothing to those who are cold? Will I even *want* to return to community work at the end of this year?

“Your life is your practice. Your spiritual practice does not occur someplace other than in your life right now, and your life is nowhere other than where you are. You are looking for answers, insight, and wisdom that you already possess. Live the life in front of you, be the life you are, and see what you find out for yourself.”
― Karen Maezen Miller

And then my mind returns to just being in the moment. To try and control my situation is not good for anyone. It is not my job to be concerned over unknown details. The work is to be authentic and kind – walking with intention through life. As Julian of Norwich said, “All shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well.” And so it is…and so it shall be.

There is yarn calling to me, and it is time for me to do what is in front of me.

Shalom,
keu/Yarn and Zen

Leave a Reply

